Delightful Pomegranates

2014-11-08 17.39.34

Had a text from a friend last night saying “we’ve got Pomegranates”. Yippee! Needless to say they had a visit from me today. Pomegranates are an all time favourite fruit for me. So much so that another friend wrapped one up and gave it to me for Christmas last year – I was delighted – such a clever present which made me very happy. Actually I have lots of favourite fruits (bit like favourite beaches – my favourite beach, my favourite beach to swim on, Spikey’s favourite beach etc. Poppy rabbit doesn’t have a favourite beach as she prefers the garden with yummy grass to eat – anyway I digress) and my favourite fruits vary from season to season but Autumn/Winter my top favourite is the Pomegranate with it’s delicious jewel like seeds.

2014-11-08 17.40.322014-11-08 18.41.47

Pomegranates are a healthy food to eat as studies suggest they have anti-inflammatory properties and are good for the heart. They cleanse the circulatory system by helping to unclog the arteries, prevent blood clotting, increase oxygen flow to the heart and lower blood pressure.(http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2013/nov/02/why-pomegranate-is-good-for-you).

2014-11-08 18.41.22

As a child I can remember my brother and I both picking out Pomegranate seeds out with a cocktail stick, eating them one at a time and getting very sticky in the process. These days I break all the seeds out and put in a bowl to eat. As I enjoy eating Pomegranates so much it is rare for them to get into an actual recipe although they regularly go into my Energy Breakfast.

Leave a Reply

