Broccoli and Wildebeest

Spikey 2014-08-31 12.43.13

One of the highlights of Spikey’s day is eating Broccoli…….yes eating Broccoli is something he gets incredibly excited and happy about. He will scamper off into the garden with his prized piece of Broccoli in his mouth thrilled to bits. He will then spend a few happy minutes tossing the broccoli around before rolling over it and then finally eating it clearly savouring every last mouthful. It is fair to say a good amount of broccoli does get consumed here as Poppy rabbit automatically expects Broccoli stalks to form part of her breakfast.  I adore broccoli be it raw, cooked or sprouted and a favourite treat is having freshly picked purple sprouting broccoli from Dad’s garden. I don’t have a veggie patch in my garden so have to buy broccoli because strangely enough I feel deprived if I don’t have my daily broccoli helping(s!). I don’t have a broccoli recipe for the blog today because broccoli is probably integral to most savoury courses I have.

2014-09-28 08.57.32However, a google search on broccoli has revealed how healthy it is as it is “a good source of Protein, Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol), Thiamin, Riboflavin, Pantothenic Acid, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus and Selenium, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin K, Vitamin B6, Folate, Potassium and Manganese.”  (http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/vegetables-and-vegetable-products/2356/2#ixzz3EvFINxU7). Wikipedia revealed that China produces over 9 million tonnes of broccoli a year (43% of world production) so I be alright if I decide to visit China. Google didn’t reveal though that the little people in my family have called it “greentrees”. It might have been after they saw this picture from http://boingboing.net/2011/06/26/broccoli-treehouse.html

Broccoli HouseAnyway being a broccoli fan worked to my advantage this summer. If you eat raw broccoli at lunchtime at work it is a bit of a give away that you like healthy eating/are a vegetarian/are a vegan. So, a colleague told me about this great new restaurant she had been to which was…. wait for it……… VEGAN. (Thank you Ann!) Wow a vegan restaurant in Cornwall how wonderful. As all Vegans know eating out can be – well lets just say an interesting experience.

wildebeest

So a couple weeks later when I was on leave I had a day out with Mum and we went to the Wildebeest Cafe in Falmouth. http://www.wildebeestcafe.com/.  Just couldn’t decide what to have as not used to having a choice. In the end I decided to have an enchilada with butternut squash, salsa, refried beans, sticky onions and cashew cheese  followed by a slice of raw “cheese”cake. It was such a treat to have nice vegan food out and I savoured every mouthful. Everything is freshly prepared there and whilst waiting customers can entertain themselves by drawing on the blackboard which I thought was a fun idea. I’m glad we got there for an early lunch as it is the kind of place that gets busy. I can’t wait to go to go back there again as they constantly change the menu – even more choice how lovely and perhaps next time I’ll choose something from the menu which has broccoli in it…….

Leave a Reply

