Cool Crumble

SpikeySpikey as a puppy eating blackberries

BlackberriesApples

Well it is definitely time for a crumble to so I can put to good use the apples I’ve been given as well as eating up some of the blackberries in my garden.Mmmm blackberries – I’ve had a bumper crop of this little antioxidant gem rich in nutrients this year and Spikey my dog is always out in the garden helping himself to any blackberry he can reach. I’m glad he is not a big dog as there wouldn’t be any left for me! Folklore tells us not to eat wild blackberries after the end of September so I’ve made my crumble just in time 🙂

Cool Crumble IngredientsApple and Blackberry Crumble

This is when I realise I don’t know how much fruit I used to cook this crumble but that is the beauty of it – you can just use whatever fruit you have and just cook it for a bit longer if you have lots of fruit.You can see from the picture how many apples and blackberries I used. Also I usually cook it when the oven is on for something else (on this occasion Superfood Bread)

As I have no arm power I use my food processor to cut up all the fruit as well as mix all the  crumble topping ingredients. Mostly I prefer to use natural sweeteners (dried fruit, agave etc) but so that I can have a nice crunchy topping I do use sugar in this recipe, and along with the oats and spelt gives a nice nutty (without nuts!) texture and taste.

Cool Crumble with Cashew Cream
Cool Crumble with Cashew Cream

Cool Crumble  Serves a family

Apples

Blackberries

2oz Spelt Flour

2oz Oats

2oz Sugar

2oz Vegan Margarine (I used Pure)

Preheat the Oven to 180C

Peel, core and slice the apples and put in a oven proof dish with the blackberries and add a small amount of water to cover the bottom of the dish.  Mix together the Spelt, Oats, Sugar and Pure to form a crumble and add to the apples. Cook for 30-45 minutes.

This tastes equally yummy served cool or warm and for extra deliciousness serve with Cashew Cream or Soya Icecream

Leave a Reply

